p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Beans ‘n’ Greens

leave a comment »

Photobucket
I’ve been living out of a suitcase for about a month now… this has meant lots of hummus, cheeseless pizzas and veggie burgers. Don’t get me wrong, I like all these things, but by last night I was in dire need of some dark leafy greens and beans and rice, otherwise known as the Trifecta of Vegan Staffs of Life. It’s not the fanciest vegan showboat food I could make, but on a rainy, dark, fairly chilly day (just look at the lighting), it hit the spot. I braised the beans and kale in some Thai red chile paste and almond milk (an improvised sub for coconut milk that ended up being a bit too watery to make a true red curry) and some tamari. I still haven’t made a true shopping trip for my new apartment, nor have I unpacked my cutting board, so this was a very basic evening. And it marked my first night cooking rice on a gas stove! By the time I made another pot of rice for the leftovers tonight, I had found the knack– every new stove I work with, I have to find my stride with a pot of rice, and then anything is doable.

Written by phdelicious

June 20, 2008 at 1:12 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

