p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Shortcut Strawberry Pie

leave a comment »

Photobucket

Alright, since it was such a basic meal tonight I’ll do two posts for today, and talk about the strawberry pie I made in Vancouver to round out the spanakopita meal. I took a storebought, pre-made graham cracker crust– I love that these are vegan– and baked it for a couple of minutes and cooled it. I mixed some Tofutti vegan cream cheese with some sugar and vanilla, and spread that in the shell. Then I put some cut-up strawberries on top, melted some strawberry jam in a small saucepan over low heat (a little trick I learned from one of my favourite cookbooks, Farm Journal Complete Pie Cookbook, Doubleday 1965) and used that as a glaze. In the past I’ve made far more involved glazes, crusts, and tofu-cheesecake fillings. I enjoy an involved cooking session, but on a night when I was already wrestling with phyllo pastry, I appreciated the cut corners here, and it turned out to be a very tasty pie.

Written by phdelicious

June 20, 2008 at 1:28 am

Posted in Baking

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

