p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Strawberry Pie

leave a comment »

Photobucket

An opportunity to crack out my beloved Farm Journal Complete Pie Cookbook from 1965. I’m still trying out how best to work with Earth Balance shortening; it’s non-hydrogenated and much more firm than Crisco. So the old pastry wisdom that calls for frigid ingredients doesn’t work as well, I’ve found. This time I had a bit better luck by leaving out the shortening for awhile to soften a bit.
I love pies. I have a romantic and all-encompassing nostalgia for pies. I wish I could make them more often!
Below is the unbaked pie.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

July 7, 2008 at 12:14 am

Posted in Baking

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

