p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Charred Onion Zukes, Tomato Caper Couscous, Fake Fish

with one comment

Photobucket

I know, fake meat again! I got the chance to go to an all-vegan store in Kitchener this weekend, Green Door Vegan Variety, and saw these vegan fish pieces and had to try them out. Aaaand, they’re delicious. To address a fight I have with my friend Andrew, I don’t miss meat, I just relish the opportunity to cook with any texture, preparation method, and flavour I please. And I’ve always loved seaweedy salty goodness, and these morsels fit the bill (and include actual seaweed as the “skin”!) I sauteed the onions in a bit of the leftover niter kibbeh from my Ethiopian sessions (that’s clarified seasoned Earth Balance margarine). Added the summer squash, removed the whole mess once cooked, and quickly fried up the fish in the pan with a bit of olive oil and lemon juice. The Tomato Caper Couscous is insanely flavourful and delicious with so few ingredients! It must be from Veganomicon

Written by phdelicious

July 15, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have NEVER seen fake fish! The future is here!

    Sarah

    July 17, 2008 at 1:50 am


Leave a Reply

