p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Tweaked Chickpea Curry and Zucchini

with one comment

Photobucket

When I make a lot of something, I freeze the rest so that I don’t have to eat it for a whole week. This is the Coconut Chickpea Curry that I posted awhile ago, which I got from the vegandad website. The original was a bit too coconutty for me, and so a little flat-tasting. Tonight I sought to supply some tang. I could just tell you that I added some strained tamarind and amchoor. That would maintain the foodie cred that I got earlier by using cast iron pans and a gas stove. But I didn’t. I added about a teaspoon each of ketchup and Thai chili sauce. And it did the trick! You can’t taste them at all, but the flavour is tastier and more balanced now.
Then I cut up a beautiful local zucchini (pictured below) and sauteed it with frozen peas. But not before popping some mustard seeds in a bit of hot oil, and adding a clove of minced garlic and dashes of cumin, coriander, and turmeric. If you feel that your curries are lacking depth of flavour, I bet you anything that popping some mustard seeds in hot oil right off the top will give you more of what you’re looking for.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

August 4, 2008 at 12:21 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That curry looks delish! Ketcheup & other condiments FTW fer sure!

    Exciting news – I just got Veganomicon and Uncheese in the mail – any suggestions for first recipe try outs?

    tinge

    August 4, 2008 at 4:14 pm


Leave a Reply

