p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Wedding Cupcakes: Trial #1

with 3 comments

Photobucket

I can finally start testing cupcakes for Alicia and Jason’s wedding! Most of the batch was set aside for experimentation with cupcake freezing, but I thought it would be fun to decorate four cupcakes on the spot. Alicia’s colours are pale blue–actually, exactly the colour of the blue icing shown here–and deep raspberry/blood red. I had warned her how difficult it can be to achieve truly red icing, so I’d already begun planning a mostly blue/white palette for the final cupcakes. But I thought it wouldn’t hurt at this stage to fool around with “red”…
I only had a few white sprinkles on hand, so my little sprinkle pattern cupcake isn’t quite what I had in mind. But I loved discovering how to dip cupcakes in sprinkles on a plate to form a pattern… I’ll just think through the pattern better next time. It was great getting some practice with piping, too, and I’ve officially fallen in love with the leaf-shape tip.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

August 10, 2008 at 6:58 pm

Posted in Baking

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Jess,
    You might already know this but if you’re looking for red, red icing, I know my mom used to get this food colouring from Wilton that was able to achieve that colour. It was a different pigment than their shades of pink. You should be able to get it at any Michael’s craft store or place that sells cake stuff.

    Julie Stewart

    August 11, 2008 at 3:00 am

  2. Oooh, thanks Julie. I think I just came across that stuff online: Wilton’s Christmas Red. I’ll have a look.
    Nice to hear from you! Hope things are swimmingly!

    phdelicious

    August 11, 2008 at 1:07 pm

  3. They look beautiful! And the best thing is — they taste amazing! I love the leaf icing tip, too.

    AKer

    August 14, 2008 at 3:21 am


Leave a Reply

