p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Wild Rice and Stone Fruit Salad

leave a comment »

Photobucket

I’ve been eating a lot of junk food lately: cookies, chips, you name it. By this evening I just wanted some produce for dinner. So this summery dinner hit the spot. Luckily I made it to the health food store today (still too lazy to go the couple of blocks further to the farmer’s market) and got some local kale, red pepper, corn, plums, apricots, and a peach. And some wild rice, which is a bit pricey, but I was in the mood for something different. The salad was just all those things plus a simple lemon vinaigrette (didn’t have vinegar in it, so I guess it wasn’t really a vinaigrette. Lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, a pinch of sugar and a bit of dijon.) I usually eat the kale straight up like the eighth-level vegan I am, but tonight I put the bit of leftover dressing on it. This meal was just what I needed after my week-long crapfest.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

August 14, 2008 at 11:49 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

