p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Ethiopian for Four

with 2 comments

Photobucket

I had three people over to finish all the Ethiopian food filling up my freezer! I made one new dish, which happily used up my niter kibbeh, too.
Starting with the yellow on the left and going clockwise, we have atar allecha (split pea puree), yetakelt kilkil (vegetable stew), atar allecha made with green lentils, yesimer w’et (split peas in a spicy red gravy), another yesimer w’et made with red lentils, and some gomen (made with chard instead of collards).
There’s a store in town that usually sells homemade injera, but yesterday they didn’t have any; instead, they had Sudanese sour flat bread, which I think was also fermented like injera, but a little less spongy and with no teff flour. But it worked really well!

Written by phdelicious

August 27, 2008 at 2:17 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Could you send me the recipes for these if/when you have time? I am dying of envy right now, they look so. amazing.

    Emily W.

    August 27, 2008 at 6:03 pm

  2. […] every once in awhile (JulyJuly 2008, and August of 2008) I make a big Ethiopian feast over the course of several days. I spend those days in culinary […]


Leave a Reply

