p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Black Forest Cake

leave a comment »

Photobucket

Here’s the cake I made yesterday for Matthew’s birthday. He likes Black Forest Cake, so I got to make a cake I’ve never attempted before. I made a plain chocolate wacky cake from Papa Tofu: a batch and a half to make three layers. I got a jar of sour cherries in syrup and boiled them with a bit of arrowroot to thicken them a bit, and then added some brandy (this was loosely based on the Black Forest variation of the Chocolate Cherry Creme cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World), and spread that mixture between the layers after brushing more brandy on every cake layer. You’re supposed to use kirsch, which is cherry brandy, but the Hamilton area is currently completely out of kirsch, according to my local LCBO. I made a standard buttercream, but only after I experimented on a first batch of frosting by making buttercream and then beating in blended cashew cream and silken tofu. This turned the first batch into custard, which you can now see surrounding the letters on the cake. It is now completely set up in my fridge, and could be used as frosting, but time was short and for the purposes of the cake I just had to make a new batch.
Then on the way there it started to rain, luckily there was a lot of plastic wrap over it. The cake plate was too heavy for me to also carry an umbrella, so it was a fun walk, to say the least. It was definite MacArthur Park material, but luckily the cake and I both arrived unscathed in the end!

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

September 14, 2008 at 6:57 pm

Posted in Baking

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

