p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

VeganMoFo Iron Chef Challenge: Pecan Pear Galette

with 8 comments

Photobucket

This week I made something for Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk’s Iron Chef Challenge! (see here). The ingredients were pears and nuts. I have a ton of Earth Balance shortening to use up, so pastry was on my mind from the start. I made a sweet shortcrust pastry cobbled together from various recipes on the internet, then a kind of pecan puree: I ground a heaping half cup of pecans, and then mixed in about three tablespoons of corn syrup, a tablespoon of sugar, a dash of salt, a squirt of lemon juice, a few dashes each of cinnamon, cloves, and cardamom, and some water to loosen it up. On top of the pear slices I brushed some melted Earth Balance (yes, this isn’t a low fat dessert by any means.) Then I baked it at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes or so (I think.)

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

October 12, 2008 at 10:50 pm

Posted in Baking

Tagged with ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That looks beautiful!

    jennlynskey

    October 13, 2008 at 12:41 am

  2. That looks DELICIOUS!

    Michelle

    October 13, 2008 at 12:48 am

  3. Gorgeous!

    Megan

    October 13, 2008 at 3:23 am

  4. Oh my!

    Monique

    October 13, 2008 at 4:26 am

  5. That looks so yummy. I love galettes, no fancy fluting required, same great taste!

    Lily

    October 13, 2008 at 6:45 am

  6. Thanks, all! It is very tasty, and luckily much smaller than a whole pie, since I’ve been known to eat entire pies…

    phdelicious

    October 13, 2008 at 2:28 pm

  7. […] We had strudel, muffins, caramel sauce (holy crap), more caramel, sandies, pancakes, cheesecake, a galette, dessert pizza, baked pears, mini-pies, and more muffins.  I hate you all for torturing me, you […]

  8. Great use of ingredients! Looks YUM!

    Jeni Treehugger

    October 14, 2008 at 4:33 pm


Leave a Reply

