p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Survey Time

leave a comment »

I feel like my blog has a mandate: only pictures of food I make and descriptions of what it is and how I made it. But reading all the Veganmofo posts from other blogs, I thought I’d get in the branchy-outy spirit and post something else! So here’s a food survey that’s been making the Veganmofo rounds.

1. Name a song that involves food in some way.
“You Can Have Him,” Nina Simone. “I’d fix a breakfast that would please him most/ Eggs and coffee, some apricot juice and some buttered toast.”

2. What criteria do you use when choosing a new cookbook to buy?
These days it has to really have an interesting approach to recipes. I dunno, I haven’t bought a cookbook in awhile because I have so many already.

3. What did you eat today?
Hmm, I just woke up. Rye toast with Earth Balance and a couple of florets of roasted cauliflower out of the fridge.

4. Name a vegan food that you know exists but you have never tried.
All those new vegan cheeses that have been burning up the internet this year, Teese, Scheese, all those.

5. The Food Network just called and needs you to start your new show tomorrow. What will the title of the show be?
Pump up the Parsnips.

6. Favorite hot sauce or other spicy condiment?
I like them all! Sambal Oelek, uh, standard tex-mex hot sauces are favourites, I suppose

7. How old were you when you became vegetarian/vegan?
Vegetarian at 22
Vegan at 24

8. Favorite vegan cheeze?
The sauces from The Uncheese Cookbook.

9. Cutest baby animal?
Man, I usually find the adults of any given species cuter. Uh, elephants.

10. Favorite type of jam/jelly/marmalade/preserves?
I think basic strawberry!

11. Do you take any vitamins/supplements?
Some Jamieson kids vitamins, B12.

12. What food/dish most embodies the Fall season?
Root Vegetables!

13. What food would you have a hard time living without?
Greens and cruciferous. I get antsy after a couple of weeks away from these (as I probably should!) I think I’d have a really hard time living without toast. I eat toast just about every day, and I love its guts.

14. Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?
Coffee. I really only prefer tea when I’m sick or overtired, or when I’m having a tea party with my friends.

15. It’s 10PM and you’re starving. What do you eat?
Hahaha, I’m rarely starving at 10PM! But I’d say toast. Or popcorn with nutritional yeast et.al. Or, whenever I’ve made tempeh or seitan or tofu for dinner, which isn’t often, a leftover slice of that.

16. If you have an animal companion, what is his/her favorite food?
Aw, don’t have one. But Hannah my late dachsund used to like everything but lettuce. Everything. She ate a whole stick of butter once.

17. Worst injury you’ve gotten in the kitchen?
I think just little burns and cuts. Unless I’ve blocked something out, which I wouldn’t put past me. I had e.coli once, but that sure as hell wasn’t from MY kitchen. It was probably from SOMEONE’s kitchen, though!

18. When you have a food-related question, who do you call?
Haha, I’m usually the one people call! But, definitely the internet.

19. Summer is ending- What food will you miss most?
Berries.

20. What snacks do you keep in your purse/backpack/desk at work?
I never bring snacks to work, which means I usually end up with an overpriced banana from the student centre, or just have another cup of coffee for a snack.

21. Favorite soup to make on a rainy day?
Oooh, Matzoh Ball Soup from Vegan with a Vengeance! That was what I made for my last rainy day soup session! Or Mushroom Barley, or Tarragon Lentil…

22. What’s your favorite combination of fresh vegetable and/or fruit juices?
apple ginger.
23. Favorite brand of root beer?
This organic kind, Santa Cruz Organic I think? Or am I thinking of their ginger ale, which is amazing!

24. Make up your own question!
What is your dream birthday cake?
I’m making it for my birthday this year: green tea layer cake with almond cream between and marzipan to cover.

Written by phdelicious

October 18, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

