p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

BBQ Tofu, Braised Celery, Mashed Rutabaga

with 2 comments

Photobucket

I didn’t get home until 8 o’clock, and I was so hungry! But I’d had my heart set on making this all day, so I did, and it took less than an hour. I baked the leftover tofu from the sushi challenge, brushing it with bottled barbeque sauce. Meanwhile, I braised some celery and garlic on low heat in a bit of olive oil, white wine, and later some water. I boiled and mashed the chunks of rutabaga with a bit of unsweetened soymilk and a touch of olive oil. Voila!

Written by phdelicious

October 22, 2008 at 2:05 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. we think alike. LOVE rutabegas. Always have. Though my mother would always call them turnips. have no idea what she called real turnips. scandalous. Rutabega vs. Turnip always causes a good “discussion” in my family.

    I love BBQ. Just made a bunch of BBQ sauce from a hot damn and hell yeah recipe. must use it up…

    Bethany

    October 22, 2008 at 10:30 pm

  2. My family always gets a kick out of it when people call rutabagas “swedes,” because we have Swedish ancestors and like to joke that it’s probably one of the few veggies that would grow up there! 🙂

    phdelicious

    October 22, 2008 at 10:42 pm


Leave a Reply

