p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

VeganMoFo Day 22: The Trick to Oven Fries

with 2 comments

Photobucket

This has been my favourite way to cook potatoes for probably a decade. I originally got the idea from Bonnie Stern’s Simply HeartSmart Cooking. The trick is the rack on top of the cooking sheet: less surface area to stick means you can use way less oil, as little as a teaspoon! And despite less oil, the fries taste really great. Toss the potatoes with a bit of olive oil, arrange on the rack over the sheet, sprinkle with herbs and spices of your choice and salt and pepper, and bake at 400F (I never know for how long: I’ve come to think it varies by potato and oven. I usually just keep an eye on them, and I’d say it’s usually in the 30-45 min. mark.)

Written by phdelicious

October 22, 2008 at 11:25 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is how I make chips – they are so freaking good!

    Jeni Treehugger

    October 23, 2008 at 10:13 am

  2. You told me this trick sometime in the last few years and now I do it all the time! I also shared it with Kathy, who has also adopted it.

    Sarah

    October 23, 2008 at 6:48 pm


Leave a Reply

