p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Red Cooked Celery

with one comment

Photobucket

I had more celery to use up (which happens when you live alone and buy a whole head of celery) so I decided to continue with the braising theme and “red cook” it, which refers to a method of Chinese cooking that I first read about ages ago in Cooking Light magazine. Here’s the Wikipedia entry on it, and I only loosely followed the method. I braised it with white wine, hoisin sauce, a cut-up tomato, some tamari and garlic, with a bit of sesame chile oil at the end. And I didn’t really braise it because I wanted to reduce the liquid quickly and so it spent a lot of cooking time with the top off. I thought a tomato would go well, and it did. I mostly thought of it because of the part in Fred Wah’s Diamond Grill where he talks about the recipe for Tomato Beef. I love the food prose poems in that book with a passion, even though, ironically enough given this blog, the poem on Tomato Beef ends with his vegetarian sister claiming it’s a good enough dish to make someone want to go back to meat. No need for the beef, I say, when you’ve got garlic and soy sauce and tomatoes and sugar and spices. And celery!

Written by phdelicious

October 25, 2008 at 1:06 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This looks so tasty and delicious – and I don’t even care for celery and tomatoes. I realize now that I’m so hungry – and it’s lunch time! Thank you for the gorgeous food!

    Karen

    October 25, 2008 at 7:24 pm


Leave a Reply

