p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

My 27th Birthday Cake

with 2 comments

Photobucket

For my birthday this year I decided to make a green tea marzipan cake!

Photobucket

Here we have the layers: I made the “non-chocolate cake” from Papa Tofu, taking out a spoonful of flour and replacing it with a 1/4 cup green tea powder. For the filling I continued my troubled experiments with not-too-sweet creamy fillings: I blended raw cashews and soymilk to make a smooth paste, added in some icing sugar, vanilla, almond extract, and silken tofu, and ended up with a runny mess! So I cooked it with a bit of arrowroot to thicken it, but it was nothing to write home about.

Photobucket

Here we have the cake iced with standard buttercream, stabilised with skewers and then chilled.

Photobucket

Now for the tricky part that I had never done before and that I know way better how to do next time. I rolled out the marzipan, making sure at first that there was enough icing sugar on the surface to keep it from sticking. As the round got thinner and thinner, though, I failed to make sure it was still not sticking. So then I had a very thin sheet of marzipan stuck like glue to my counter, and some swearing and jabbing with a thin metal spatula and tearing ensued. Once it was all torn in dry pieces that couldn’t be fixed, I decided (or was forced) to go the “rustic” route. The “rustic” route always saves the day!

Written by phdelicious

October 27, 2008 at 1:04 am

Posted in Baking

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy Birthday! Nevermind how it looks, what counts is how it tastes!

    Been enjoying your blog silently for awhile, but the one thing I’d like to see is the recipes for the dishes you make. You posts are inspiring!

    April

    October 27, 2008 at 2:01 am

  2. Oh this looks and sounds soooo wonderful! The lessons we learn when we first do something hey!
    Happy happy Birthday to youuuuuuuuu.
    xx

    Jeni Treehugger

    October 27, 2008 at 3:15 pm


Leave a Reply

