p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Kale Pesto Spaghetti

leave a comment »

Photobucket

A lot of green meals these days! Well, let it be known that bunches of dill sold in stores are very large and take a single girl ages to eat up. I did my old leftover-herbs standby and made a pesto with parsley, dill, garlic (I never thought I’d say this, but I think I used a bit too much garlic this time. Too many bitter things in this meal to achieve an ideal balance with that much garlic), toasted pine nuts, lemon, olive oil, and salt and pepper. I mixed a dollop of that with cooked spaghetti. In the meantime I’d slowly caramelised a chopped onion with about a teaspoon of brown sugar (it wasn’t the sweetest onion on earth, and I knew the kale and raw garlic would need it. Ultimately, my hunch was right but underestimated: the onion, sugar, and sundried tomatoes didn’t quite balance the scales enough.) To the caramelised onion I added chopped kale and cooked it down with a touch of water, and some sundried tomatoes. What matters most when you’re making up your own dishes is the balance of taste. If you have tangy, sweet, salty, and bitter or earthy, you’re usually set. I’d tweak this a bit, but it wasn’t bad.

Written by phdelicious

December 4, 2008 at 10:50 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

