p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Strawberry Cake

with 4 comments

Photobucket

On Friday I made two birthday cakes for a birthday party celebrating seven December birthdays! This one was for Melissa, Alicia, and Quintin, and I used the Strawberry Cake recipe from Kittee’s site here. (well, I use the version reprinted in her zine Papa Tofu, but it’s the same recipe). I used unsweetened soymilk for the vanilla soymilk, because cake is already sweet enough! Plus I only had a teaspoon of strawberry extract: the tiniest bottle of extract I’ve ever bought. But I think it was strawberry-y enough anyways with just the teaspoon. For the filling I mixed some cut-up strawberries with some strawberry preserves. For the icing I decided I’m fed up with the Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World buttercream, so just mixed as-you-go amounts of Tofutti cream cheese, shortening, and a bit of Earth Balance with a bunch of icing sugar, raspberry syrup (the expensive stuff for lattes, not flavoured maple syrup!), blackcurrant cordial, and Wilton pink food colouring until it was the consistency I wanted. A very tasty cake; this was very popular!

Below: Half-assembled.

Photobucket

Ready to bake, pink batter in the pan.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

December 8, 2008 at 2:09 am

Posted in Baking

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. looks great! i like how you decorated it, pink and green are favulous together.

    xo
    kittee

    kittee

    December 11, 2008 at 2:50 am

  2. Thanks, Kittee! Yes, pink and green seem to equal instant good times.

    phdelicious

    December 11, 2008 at 8:13 am

  3. I called it “psychedelic” and Jason made fun of me.

    AKer

    December 15, 2008 at 4:54 am

  4. Stupendously done, I want eat all now.

    Mike Long

    January 9, 2009 at 10:51 pm


Leave a Reply

