p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Mocha Cake

leave a comment »

Photobucket

Here’s Cake #2 for last Friday’s birthday party! I used the chocolate cake recipe from Kittee here, but again I used the Papa Tofu reprint, and took up her suggestion to replace the water with cold coffee. For the two teaspoons vanilla I used one teaspoon vanilla and one teaspoon Frangelico. Finally, I made a half-batch after the first two layers to make three layers. For the filling, I made the Hazelnut Mocha Mousse from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World: this works really well as a cake filling! So sturdy a filling, so much fun spackling during assembly. Anyhow, then I did another play-by-ear frosting (I wasn’t kidding about being fed up with the proportions of the VCTOtW buttercream), with Tofutti cream cheese, shortening, Earth Balance margarine, icing sugar, instant espresso powder, cocoa, and Frangelico.

Below: Mousse-filled naked cake.

Photobucket

Then: Side view. I have two new tools that have changed my cake decorating world. One is a Wilton plastic three-sided comb that carves a ripply pattern in the side of cakes (obviously I don’t know what this is called) and an honest-to-goodness angled cake-decorating spatula. Flat, smooth cakes!

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

December 9, 2008 at 1:47 am

Posted in Baking

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

