p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Alicia’s Birthday Cake

with one comment

Photobucket

Man, I’ve been such a deadbeat lately! My apologies. And updates might be a bit spotty in the next couple of weeks while I’m visiting family in Vancouver. But bear with me! Here’s Alicia’s birthday cake I made last week. I used the same chocolate cake recipe from below, straight chocolate this time, in two layers. Between I spread some strawberry preserves. For the icing I used Yoso brand cream cheese for the first time, instead of Tofutti. While I like the texture and taste of Yoso better, the reason for this is likely the same reason the frosting wouldn’t stay very stiff no matter what I did: it’s non-hydrogenated. I’ve noticed the same thing with non-hydrogenated shortening, and as a result I save the non-hydrogenated shortening for pie crust, and guiltily turn to Crisco for frostings. Anyways, to this frosting I added a bit of rose water, which I thought suited Alicia (she has a rose tattoo, after all) and it worked quite well with the chocolate and strawberry combo.

Written by phdelicious

December 18, 2008 at 2:31 am

Posted in Baking

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yep, it did taste good with that rose water in the frosting!! A little bit of floral with your sugar never hurts! It was such a delicious cake, Jess!

    AKer

    December 18, 2008 at 3:31 am


Leave a Reply

