p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Broccoli Two Ways

with 2 comments

Photobucket

Here we have a feast of roasted broccoli, onions, and potatoes. Olive oil, thyme on the broccoli, rosemary on the potatoes, and Italian sea salt from my fancy little “Salts of the World” sampler, which I’ve been rationing out to myself for over two years. I got the idea to roast the broccoli from all the foodies over on the New York Times food pages, where it’s the go-to trend.

Below we have Broccoli Cheez Casserole from The Uncheese Cookbook. I made this ages ago without the umeboshi vinegar because I didn’t have it, and it was very tasty. This time I DID have the umeboshi vinegar, I used the upper amount called for, and the dang thing turned into the saltiest dish I think I’ve ever made. I like me some salt, but this was TOO salty. The whole thing kind of reminds me of some kind of Rice a Roni thing… without any roni… and in a good way.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

January 18, 2009 at 1:38 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry the second dish sucked but the first meal looks YUMMY!!

    jenitreehugger

    January 18, 2009 at 4:54 pm

  2. Thanks! It was. Roasting is the best vegetable cookery method ever.

    phdelicious

    January 18, 2009 at 6:14 pm


Leave a Reply

