p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Something that Hit the Spot

with 3 comments

Photobucket

I can’t tell you how happy I was with this meal. After days of cookies and pasta (see tomorrow’s entry…tomorrow) and Tofurky sausages, nary a vegetable in sight, I was in the mood for some colourful food. This meal had all the advantages: made up entirely of healthy foods, quick and easy to make, and insanely delicious (I almost swore there, it was so good. Then I almost said “frickin’,” ultimately choosing “insanely.” Which could be problematic, I’m aware, but… it WAS insane how good it tasted. For a bunch of whole foods? I love greens and grains and all, but seriously.)
First, I cooked half a cup of quinoa in a cup of veggie broth (actually fake chicken-style broth, that’s what I had.) In a frying pan I sauteed up a red onion in some olive oil, adding a pinch of ancho chile powder, a dash of coriander and cumin and thyme. Then went in a chopped tomato. Then after a couple of minutes in went some chopped red kale and a can of rinsed black beans, and a bit of salt. I mixed it around and covered it while I made the guacamole: just an avocado, the juice of a lime, and a minced garlic clove. Added a bit of hot sauce to both the guac and the skillet, added in the quinoa, and there it was. Seriously, ineffable goodness. I don’t know what made this so good, but it was. And I have enough for lunch tomorrow.

Written by phdelicious

January 22, 2009 at 4:06 am

Posted in Meals

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have convinced me. I’m going to try to make this tonight for supper!

    Emily W.

    January 22, 2009 at 2:58 pm

  2. i will have to try that

    April

    January 22, 2009 at 9:08 pm

  3. This sounds amazing. I might try to make it for my mom tomorrow. We’ll see how that goes over.

    Richard

    January 23, 2009 at 3:52 am


Leave a Reply

