p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Fennel Pecan Salad with Fig Dressing, Yemiser W’et

with 2 comments

Photobucket

When I was at the store, I saw figs and fennel bulbs, and I remembered what I thought was a single recipe in Veganomicon. It turned out to be two different recipes: Roasted Fennel and Hazelnut Salad with Shallot Dressing, and Autumn Root Salad with Warm Maple-Fig Dressing. So, when I got home I combined the two! I made the warm-maple fig dressing without the shallots and with calimyrna instead of black mission figs, and the roasted fennel, with some pecans tossed in for the last ten minutes instead of hazelnuts. So fancy-tasting!
For the second course I had the last of the Ethiopian food that had been in the freezer forever: despite the time going by, it was so good! It’s from this recipe here, with split yellow peas instead of brown lentils. I bought this potato-green onion bread yesterday and it’s too delicious. It’s times like these you wish you had a roommate to eat some of the bread before you eat the whole loaf in a day. But anyways, it had a sourdough tang and so was a perfect accompaniment for the w’et in the absence of injera.
Overall, an amazing food coma to cap off the weekend.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

January 26, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Posted in Meals

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That salad looks ridiculously amazing! And I didn’t know that bread was vegan. It’s so good, though!

    Julie

    January 26, 2009 at 11:30 pm

  2. Tons of bread is vegan! I know, people never think of it. It’s a nice surprise!

    phdelicious

    January 26, 2009 at 11:46 pm


Leave a Reply

