p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Phish Stix

with one comment

Photobucket

I figured it was high time for a cutesy vegan euphemism! I dated an ex-Phish fan this year, so I’m allowed. Here we have leftover salad and fig dressing, roasted red potatoes with a bit of Old Bay Seasoning and rosemary, and fake breaded tofu fish. I marinated the tofu slices overnight in the fridge in some fake chicken stock, plus about 1/2 teaspoon each of kelp flakes and Old Bay Seasoning (this comes in a kitschy tin and I’d been seeing it in seafood recipes for years, but not in stores. I finally saw it in Safeway over the holidays and went for it.) Next time I would definitely add some lemon juice to the marinade to give it more of a “fish and chips” kind of tang. Then when it was dinner time I set out a dipping station, pictured below: reserved marinade, crushed cornflakes with some Old Bay and dried dill mixed in, and plain flour. To bread: take a tofu slice, dredge in flour, quickly dip back in marinade, and then dredge in the crumbs and place on an oiled cookie sheet. Bake at 450 for about twenty minutes or so, flipping once, until browned on both sides. I dipped these in fig dressing, but a vegan tartar sauce would be awesome. Also I had to sprinkle a bit more Old Bay and lemon juice on each piece post-cooking to get a bit more tangy flavour out of them (me and my love affair with tang!). But very tasty and fun.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

January 27, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Posted in Meals

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so making these because I am a Phish fan!

    mihl

    January 28, 2009 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

