p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Lentil Barley Croquettes

with 3 comments

Photobucket

Behind again! Music and school have been getting in the way a little bit; bear with me! This was a use-up-the-pantry dish. I’m sorry I don’t have measurements, I was just throwing in whatever whenever like the irresponsible food blogger I am. I cooked up the last of my lentils and the last of my barley, mashed them up with some matzoh crumbs, coriander, onion powder, and various other seasonings (I can’t remember quite what I put in there after a couple of days!) Then I chilled the mix for a bit, shaped it into patties, dredged them in the Crispy Tofu Coating from ReFresh (1/4 c. nutritional yeast plus 2 T. wheat germ plus a little less than a t. garlic powder and a dash of salt and pepper), then panfried them. For a sauce I mixed tahini and salsa with a tiny bit of water: I’ve been using this combo here and there and I’m a fan because it’s so easy. It’s like tartar sauce from another planet.

Written by phdelicious

March 1, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Posted in Meals

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmmm this looks so good! I’m gonna try that crispy coating next time I make something burger like.

    Jeni Treehugger

    March 2, 2009 at 1:23 pm

  2. Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
    Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

    Mike

    March 2, 2009 at 7:28 pm

  3. Thanks!!

    phdelicious

    March 2, 2009 at 8:32 pm


Leave a Reply

