p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Citrus Bean Tostadas

with 4 comments

Photobucket

I found some corn tortillas in the freezer and I had a bit of salsa. Time for tostadas. I took a drained can of red beans and mixed it with the salsa and some cut-up chunks of orange, to lighten things up since it was a fairly hot salsa. For the first tostada I just stuck this mixture on a corn tortilla and toasted it in the toaster oven on a toaster oven pan. The beans kept popping off as it toasted, and it was pretty cumbersome to eat. So with the remaining two tortillas I went for a messier concept: mash the mixture a bit and toast it that way. In both versions the tortillas mostly ended up soft, not crispy, and in both versions it didn’t matter because the thing tasted good. For a little sauce on top I mixed up some tahini, water, lemon juice, and nutritional yeast, to give the whole thing a little bit of rich gravitas in the absence of ye olde cheese and sour cream.
Messy Version 2.0 below.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

March 2, 2009 at 8:30 pm

Posted in Meals

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll be forgiving because you have a whole thing you’re trying to do here, but if you really want to make a tostada, you can’t try to toast the tortilla. You need to heat some oil and fry those fuckers until they’re stiff as a board.

    Richard

    March 3, 2009 at 5:55 am

  2. They look darn tasty and I like messy food!
    🙂

    Jeni Treehugger

    March 3, 2009 at 2:44 pm

  3. Thanks Jeni Treehugger! The messy version was way better.

    And Richard: you are totally right. I should really call these “open-faced enchiladas”? Or is there a better term? I’m a stickler for food nomenclature myself, so I really do appreciate you registering this quibble.

    phdelicious

    March 3, 2009 at 11:45 pm

  4. This isn’t necessarily about food nomenclature so much as it is about me having to become the authority on things Mexican when talking to you Canucks. As such, you can call it an open-faced enchilada if you like, but I can’t be held responsible for the ribbing that will follow.

    Just jokes. I think open-faced enchilada has a nice ring to it. Although even with an enchilada, the tortilla is fried briefly so that it’ll hold its shape when you bake it. I don’t really think there’s a Spanish word for what you’re doing, but it still looks pretty good.

    Richard

    March 4, 2009 at 12:13 am


Leave a Reply

