p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Grilled Cheez: Crust Variation

with 3 comments

Photobucket

Alright, I’ve posted this sandwich at least once before–the Gooey Grilled Cheez from The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook. It’s because I make it all the time. My friend Andrew calls it “your mustard cheese,” and tells me “go make yourself a mustard cheese sandwich” from time to time. Anyways, what’s different about this version is that I was out of Earth Balance, so brushed olive oil on the bread instead, before grilling. This made a fantastic crispy crust. I will do this again.

Written by phdelicious

March 3, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Posted in Meals

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I ALWAYS use olive oil because I can never bring myself to spring for EB. Here’s a secret though – the cheez can be made in the microwave.

    I mix together the dry ingredients in a HUGE batch and then keep a jar of it around, then I take maybe 5tbsp of the mixed powder, 1tbsp each tahini, Lemon juice, ketchup, and 1/4-1/2 cup water in a little dish and microwave it for 30seconds, then stir and microwave again. So.much.less.hassle! Less, cooking, less cleanup, more enjoying! It makes enough for 2 stuffed sandwiches and YMMV so it might require some tweaking…

    tinge

    March 4, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  2. That’s so cool! I love that you make that sangie all the time, too!

    ….here’s the thing, and why I can’t do it just like you do…. I no longer have a microwave!! I do everything on the stove now. But I like the idea of premixing the dry ingredients. I should do that!

    I have the proportions pretty much memorized for one sandwich, which involves quartering the recipe. Half a tablespoon of tahini, half a tablespoon of lemon juice, scant half tablespoon ketchup, half a tablespoon flour, half a teaspoon onion powder, etc…. I could probably do it in my sleep!

    phdelicious

    March 5, 2009 at 3:33 am

  3. I so need to get myself that book – it sounds more and more wonderful the more I hear about it and the more I see delicious gooey cheezy sandwiches like that one! I actually dribbled on my keyboard!

    jenitreehugger

    March 5, 2009 at 3:52 pm


Leave a Reply

