p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Pesto Lentil Couscous

leave a comment »

Photobucket

I went to the market and bought some nice green beans and basil and delicious small organic tomatoes (Tate thinks they’re strawberry tomatoes, and I think he’s likely right– they weren’t quite the size of either cherry or grape tomatoes, and were shaped a bit like strawberries). So here, I cooked some toasted Israeli couscous in some veggie broth, combined it with cooked French lentils (all these nationalistic food descriptors!) and sauteed up the tomatoes and beans. For the pesto I used toasted blanched almonds and pepitas, plus garlic, lemon juice, salt, pepper, basil, and olive oil. I used my blender, because my tired old food processor is in semi-retirement and I like to let him sleep as much as possible. He’s kinda had PTSD ever since he worked so hard over at Robbie and Laurie’s grinding prunes for vinarterta…

Written by phdelicious

April 12, 2009 at 6:43 pm

Posted in Meals

Leave a Reply

