p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Tate’s Birthday Cake

leave a comment »

Photobucket

Remember the orange cake I made for my dad last month? I made it again for Tate’s birthday last week. I’ve never made cake for this circle of friends before, so I wanted to make something I’d made before (no experimenting with red velvet or rose water! Lucky old friends get to be my guinea pigs.) I ran out of time on Tate’s birthday– the whole day was set back by a couple of hours, so I wasn’t able to get too fancy with decorating. I rarely leave myself enough time to really get into practicing decorating techniques. I should work at this.
The pale orange colour comes from combining a whole bunch of red and yellow India Tree brand food colouring. This stuff is quite expensive, and you need to use tons of it for any colour to be visible at all, but it is all natural and vegan. The green is just cheap supermarket colouring.

Written by phdelicious

April 20, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Posted in Baking

Leave a Reply

