p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Miso Broiled Eggplant and Tempura

leave a comment »

Miso Eggplant and Tempura

I had tons of vegetables from my visit to the Farmers Market, so I decided to try making tempura to go with my broiled eggplant. The friends I’ve been cooking and eating with lately are on a bit of a deepfrying kick, and since the only thing I’ve been able to eat are the french fries they make, I was in the mood for experimenting with copious amounts of oil at home! For the tempura I used this batter recipe from VeganYumYum, which is one of many food blogs I check on the regular. A great recipe! I made a half batch of the batter and it was enough to do a large parsnip thinly sliced, several button mushrooms, and a crown of broccoli. This, by the way, is a huge amount of tempura for one person, and I think I gained about eight pounds this particular evening. For the Miso Broiled Eggplant I adapted a recipe from The Artful Vegan, which is still one of the fanciest cookbooks I own (and which still makes me regret I never got reservations at Millennium Restaurant when I was staying a block away in Frisco this Christmas).
The recipe calls for minced scallions/green onions, but I didn’t have any. I cut the recipe to make the perfect amount for one Japanese eggplant cut into two, and that’s what I’ll post here:

small minced clove garlic
about a teaspoon minced ginger
1 T. white miso (I’ve made this before with red miso and it was also good, if a little more in-your-face)
1 T. mirin
1 t. toasted sesame seeds
1 t. sesame oil
1 Japanese eggplant, halved lengthwise

Mix everything but the eggplant in a shallow dish. The recipe says to add some water to thin it a bit, but I left it a rather thick paste so that it would be nice and slathery in the broiling step. Let the eggplant halves sit in the paste for about half an hour, then place cut side up on a dry cookie sheet, scooping the miso mixture on top and spreading it evenly to cover the eggplant’s cut surfaces. Broil for 5-7 minutes (mine took 8 minutes, I think, but keep an eye.)

One of the perks of having a gas oven in this apartment is the awesome broiling it can do. In my oven, you flip down the bottom drawer of the oven (the drawer that in a mere mortal electric oven would hold extra pans and cookie sheets) and slide whatever you’re broiling underneath the naked gas flame that heats the whole oven. You’re basically cooking with real fire on the floor of your kitchen, and that feels pretty neat.

Written by phdelicious

May 1, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Posted in Meals

Leave a Reply

