p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Midnight Mints

with 2 comments

Photobucket

You know those Company’s Coming cookbooks? I never associate them with vegan cooking, so I thought it would be fun to plunge in and veganize one of the square recipes from the one I’ve had for years: Company’s Coming: 150 Delicious Squares. A compendium of all those squares you’ve always seen at girl guide camps, funeral receptions, your cousin’s confirmation reception in the church basement– or maybe you haven’t; I’m just trying to evoke the milieu of these cookbooks: heteronormativity + tupperware, expressed with generous measures of butter, icing sugar, sweetened condensed milk, and graham cracker crumbs. I found vegan graham cracker crumbs at the Bulk Barn recently, so I had to go for this! Basically a mint version of Nanaimo Bars. I think I remember Kate’s mom making these for a Student Council retreat in Grade 10, and I found them really addictive both then and now. Sickeningly sweet, though, and enough margarine to make a small sculpture. You’ve been warned.

“Midnight Mints,” adapted from Company’s Coming: 150 Delicious Squares
Bottom Layer
1/2 c. Earth Balance
1/4 c. sugar
1/3 c. cocoa (I had about half this amount and it was alright, but it would have been better with the full amount)
1 flax egg (1 T. ground flax seed whisked with 3 T. water, let to sit for a few minutes and whisked again)

1 and 3/4 c. graham cracker crumbs
1/2 finely chopped walnuts (I left these out)
3/4 c. fine coconut

Second Layer
1/3 Earth Balance, softened
3 T. non-dairy milk (I’d use less next time, plus a little more icing sugar. be cautious with the milk: mine was too runny.)
1 t. mint extract
2 c. icing sugar
green food colouring

Top Layer
2/3 c. semisweet chocolate chips (I used a 100g bar of chocolate)
2 T. Earth Balance
(next time I’d include a T. or so of non-dairy milk if I made it again with a high-quality bar of dark chocolate. It was too hard to cut, really)

First layer: Combine “butter,” sugar, and cocoa in saucepan. Bring slowly to a boil. Stir in flax egg and cook a few more seconds. Remove from heat.
Stir in crumbs, nuts, and cocnut. Work together well. Pack very firmly into greased 9X9 inch pan.

Second layer: Combine “butter,” milk, extract and icing sugar in a bowl- start with one T. of milk to make sure it’s not too runny. Tint green if desired. Spread over first layer.

Top layer: melt chocolate and Earth Balance and a bit of milk over hot water in a double boiler (or two stacked pans). Stir often. Cool. When cool but still runny, spread over second layer. Cut, chill, and store, covered, in fridge or freezer.

Written by phdelicious

May 13, 2009 at 10:53 pm

Posted in Baking

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the recipe!! Those look delicious!

    April

    May 13, 2009 at 11:07 pm

  2. My gawds they look and sound delicious but I don’t think my waist line would be happy with me if I made these. GREAT for, like you say, girl guide camps, funeral receptions and church halls where the temptations can be handed over to other people.
    🙂

    Jeni Treehugger

    May 20, 2009 at 8:26 am


Leave a Reply

