p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Panzanella

with one comment

Photobucket

Here’s the panzanella I took to a birthday potluck, very loosely based on the recipe here. I think I made a three-quarter version of the dressing, as I figured I didn’t make enough salad to warrant 1/2 a cup of olive oil. But truthfully I can’t remember if that’s what I did or meant to do. I also added white beans and chopped red pepper. And, instead of the traditional stale bread (I got a kick out of telling people I was bringing Tuscan Stale Bread Salad) I used some of a fresh loaf of Calabrese bread, cut into cubes and dried out a bit in a 300F oven– not quite to crouton stage.

I made a crab panzanella for my mom a million years ago, and I remembered this time that it’s actually preferable to let the dressing soak the bread. Because there’s quite a bit of olive oil, the bread gets soaked in a pleasant, not-too-sopping way. I find we have a bit of an aversion to soaked bread these days in our cooking: even croutons in salad seem to be arranged so that they will remain hard as rocks. Let us get over this! Remember how good that soggy last crouton at the end of your salad always turns out to be.

Written by phdelicious

May 18, 2009 at 10:37 pm

Posted in Meals

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oo! I’m happy to have had two helping of this. Where’s the like button?!

    Elizabeth

    May 24, 2009 at 1:13 pm


Leave a Reply

