p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Eggplant “Cheese” Pizza

with 2 comments

Photobucket

This is one of the best pizzas I’ve made in a long time, if I do say so myself! The base is “I Can’t Believe it’s Not Cheese” sauce from The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook. I know I use this constantly; I’m just so impressed with its richness. Unlike “cheese” sauces whose main base ingredient is nutritional yeast, tahini and miso predominate here, creating more of an earthy, blue cheese kind of bite.
(You combine 1/3 c. tahini, 2 T. nutritional yeast, 2 T. lemon juice, 2 T. light miso, 1 and 1/2 t. onion powder, and 1/4-1/2 t. salt. Then mix in the desired amount of water. The book suggests 2/3 c. of water to make a sauce, but I add a lot less to make a sandwich spread, and a little less to make a pizza sauce.)
So, I spread some cheese sauce over the pizza dough, and topped it with eggplant slices I had roasted, toasted pine nuts, sliced tomatoes, red onion, red pepper, and a basil-garlic-lemon-juice puree (this puree’s sharpness balances the rich cheese quite nicely!) Up close below.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

May 28, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Posted in Meals

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YUM PIZZA!
    I could eat Pizza for breakfast, lunch and dinner! This looks mighty fine and I’m chuffed you typed up the recipe for that cheese Sauce ‘cos I’ve been eyeing that book for THE LONGEST TIME but it’s too pricey for my wee budget. So thank you.
    🙂

    Jeni Treehugger

    May 29, 2009 at 7:14 am

  2. You’re welcome!! I figured I post so often about making stuff from that book that it was high time I include at least one recipe!

    phdelicious

    May 29, 2009 at 3:36 pm


Leave a Reply

