p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Housewarming Cake

with 2 comments

Photobucket

Terra and Mike and Ella just moved into a new apartment, so I made a cake for the housewarming. I wanted to try out a decorating aesthetic that was spare, humble, and somewhat mid-twentieth-century.
The cake itself is a lemon genoise cake from Bryanna Clark Grogan’s website; the post is here (it doesn’t look like it: scroll down). For the filling I used the lemon curd from the same post (I’ve made this a couple of times and am very pleased with it!) combined with blueberries. For the frosting, I winged it, as usual, making a cream cheese-style icing. I added soy milk powder for stability because I find Tofutti cream cheese produces quite a runny icing, but I think I added a bit too much this time, because I found the finished product too tacky and clay-like in texture. But no one else seemed to mind. A small quibble, a tasty cake.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

May 28, 2009 at 3:22 am

Posted in Baking

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOAH that looks so good! And I LOVE the icing – the blue is so pretty.

    Jeni Treehugger

    May 28, 2009 at 11:31 am

  2. Thanks! Yes, I recommend the cake recipe: very good recipe!

    phdelicious

    May 28, 2009 at 11:44 pm


Leave a Reply

