p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Simple Chickpea Curry

with one comment

Photobucket

This night I had a big tomato, half a red onion, and some cilantro. I hadn’t had curry in a long time, so curry it was, loosely inspired by the tomato chickpea curry I’ve made a million times from Vegan With a Vengeance. from that recipe I learned that beginning the cooking with frying about a teaspoon of mustard seeds until they pop is the key to tasty curry. To the sauteed seeds I added the onion, then a few minutes later the garlic and dashes of a bunch of spices: garam masala, coriander, cumin, cardamom, powdered ginger (out of fresh), cloves, and turmeric. Then the tomatoes, then a can of chickpeas. Then cooked it down with a bit of water, then cilantro at the end. Very tasty and not that hard! Oh yeah, as you see below, I’ve been trying to use my cast iron pan more often. I love it like a friend.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

June 3, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Posted in Meals

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I LOVE that recipe – make it all the time it’s so darn good. Yours looks ACE:

    Jeni Treehugger

    June 7, 2009 at 4:56 pm


Leave a Reply

