p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Vegan Mofo Day 16: Stufado to the Pesto to the Asparagus

with 2 comments

Photobucket

See a continued theme from a couple of days ago? Cooking for one person, whatever I make I usually have leftovers, and then make something else to use up the leftovers, and then have leftovers of the thing I made to jazz up the leftovers. A chain reaction of cooking, if you will. Below, we have the Stufado, or Basic Italian Stew, from Nonna’s Italian Kitchen. This dish is itself made from leftover reconstituted soy chunks I had in my freezer from the day I made Scaloppine Alla Marsala! Anyways, a delicious “brown-tasting” stew, if you know what I mean. Umami up the wazoo. Calls for parsley, which leaves a 3/4 bunch of parsley in the keeper…

Photobucket

Which calls for parsley pesto to jazz up the leftover stew! I also used some of the parsley pesto in some vegan mayo I whizzed up to take along to Breakfast Club (yeah, this entry is one of those “waiting in the wings” ones, I have to admit. So much cooking recently, so much backlog!) But I had lots of pesto…

Photobucket

So I spread it over some asparagus fresh from the Hamilton Farmer’s Market and broiled it for lunch!

Written by phdelicious

October 16, 2009 at 4:07 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YAY! for leftovers! That looks super yum and asparagus (giggle) too.
    What a lovely meal.
    🙂

    jenitreehugger

    October 16, 2009 at 6:14 pm

  2. those asparagus look amazing

    cookingforaveganlover

    October 18, 2009 at 6:38 pm


Leave a Reply

