p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Vegan MoFo Day 19: Spinach Noodle Kugel

with one comment

Photobucket

In my ongoing efforts to live up to Becca’s designation of me as an “Honourary Jew,” I’m actively cultivating my love of kugel. My friend Michelle claims she has always hated kugel, but I think it is because she has never tried vegan kugel made from an Isa recipe. I drunkenly promised once to make her a kugel she’d like, but that hasn’t yet transpired. I love both this one, the Spinach Noodle Kugel from Veganomicon, and the Cauliflower Dill Kugel I’ve made twice from Vegan With a Vengeance. For this one, used a small bunch of steamed chopped kale, about a quarter-bunch steamed chopped dandelion greens, and one thawed package frozen spinach in place of the three packages of frozen spinach. I had a few little matzoh crumbs left in my freezer, which I supplemented with bread crumbs, also from the freezer. For the broth I used chicken-style, for a little schmaltz-appeal. The broken-up noodles were also from the freezer, from the time Isa and Terry’s Veganomicon lasagna recipe called for too many lasagna noodles (bad Isa and Terry!) for Mack’s birthday dinner. Wow, this is clearly the “mention friends by name” post (except Isa and Terry; I don’t know them personally). I should do this more often. Namedropping on the food blog…

Written by phdelicious

October 19, 2009 at 4:30 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] my trusty freezer, I had leftovers of the Spinach and Noodle Kugel I made back in October…which itself was made from noodles I’d saved in the freezer since Mack’s birthday […]


Leave a Reply

