p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Vegan MoFo Day 20: Acorn Squash and Pear Soup with Sauteed Shiitakes

with 3 comments

Photobucket

Man, I’ve been cooking up a storm (MoFo has inspired me!), so most of this soup is now hanging out in the freezer! This is from Veganomicon, and I’ve made it before, a year or two ago. It is delicious. I used bosc pears instead of whatever they asked for, because I like them best, and didn’t peel them. I’ve been trying to eat more soups recently, as I’m trying to lose a bit of a spare tire I’ve developed, and soups deliver quite the nutritional and taste bang for your caloric buck!
Below are the lovely squashes I used, unfortunately from the supermarket and not the Farmer’s Market. Wherever I buy winter squashes, they always look kind of forlorn, like they know they might sit there awhile because of their lengthy shelf life. But so pretty, too! Forlorn and pretty, a very romantic combo.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

October 20, 2009 at 3:09 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love that soup too! Those squashes look beautiful…and forlorn.

    lazysmurf

    October 20, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    • I’m glad you agree!!

      phdelicious

      October 21, 2009 at 12:26 am

  2. I found your website on Yahoo and i like your content.

    Življenjsko zavarovanje

    March 15, 2010 at 5:47 pm


Leave a Reply

