p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Vegan MoFo Day 27: An Ode to Soup

leave a comment »

Photobucket

As I said, I’m sick this week with the flu. Whether it’s just “the flu” or “THE flu,” who knows– I’m already starting to feel a little better, so I’m not too worried. But what a perfect time to come down with the flu, when there’s so much soup in my freezer! Four kinds! Here’s two: above we have the Diner-Style Cabbage Soup, and below, the Acorn Squash Soup with Shiitakes, both posted last week or so.
The thing is, I was raised to not think of soup as a proper meal. My mom had a thing about it; one might call it a downright dismissal of soup. I had packets of chicken noodle, but that was about it. My mom has had a lifelong hatred of Campbell’s soup, so chicken noodle was always Lipton, never canned, and the wisdom in our house was that soup wasn’t meal-worthy unless you were ill. This slowly started to change as I got older. The first breakthrough was in the early nineties when my parents stumbled across a “Senegalese Lemon” soup mix that they loved, and then again in the late nineties when they discovered tetra-pak butternut squash soup, to which they added curry powder and made it a new staple– usually as an appetizer. My mom’s now perfectly alright with the whole soup thing, or even downright enthusiastic a lot of the time!
And as an adult, I’ve come to the conclusion that soup is the consummate meal. Often it’s got all the food groups, not a ton of calories, it freezes and reheats so well… it’s my perfect fall/winter food, especially.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

October 28, 2009 at 1:33 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

