p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Vegan MoFo Day 28: Superfood!

leave a comment »

Photobucket

This was the saute I made myself for dinner on Sunday night. I’d spent all day marking, was feeling tired, and wanted to use the dinosaur kale (black kale, lacinato kale–this kale has so many names!) getting lonely in my vegetable keeper. I sauteed three cloves of garlic in a bit of oil, then added the bunch of kale, all chopped up, plus some tamari, hot sauce, and seasoned rice vinegar. Folded it all around to wilt and covered it. Then I went hunting in my trusty freezer and found the dregs of a bag of Green Giant lima beans! Score– these went in a pot with water to boil for a few. Then a baggie of pepitas! Handful of those in with the kale. Once the beans were done they got all mixed in with the (now quite cooked) kale and the whole thing was seriously delicious for something so simple.

Ironically, after that I had the worst sleep ever and woke up with the flu. I have to think that my feeling tired the whole second half of that day before dinner meant the flu was already on its way, and no amount of kale and garlic and beans and seeds was gonna stop it.

Written by phdelicious

October 28, 2009 at 3:36 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

