p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Baked BBQ Black-eyed Peas

with 2 comments

Photobucket

Oh man, nothing better than a big cast iron pan full of beans. I think black-eyed peas may be my new favourite bean, and the Baked BBQ Black-eyed Peas recipe from Vegan Soul Kitchen is a great way to eat them. I tried Cheater Baked Beans from Veganomicon last year and found them way too sweet for my tastes, but this one didn’t have that issue, and it has a nice heat from chipotle. If anything it was a little too salty, so I think next time I’d cut down on the tamari– half a cup is quite a bit, though I’m sure the saltiness would have been absorbed a bit by the half pound of tempeh it called for that I left out. (I like to treat bean/lentil-based meals as frequent vacations from soy and gluten, so I’m not about to add soy to a perfectly good pan of beans unless I have to!)

Photobucket

This is how I ate them the first night, with a bok choy/zucchini stirfry.

Photobucket

And the next night, with the cornbread from Veganomicon— it baked in the same cast iron skillet I’d made the beans in the day before, eliciting in me all sorts of cast-iron-related joys.

Written by phdelicious

January 5, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That looks absolutely delicious, I’ve been scouring the web recipes like this, thanks for sharing.

    the grill man

    January 6, 2010 at 7:13 pm

  2. […] Baked BBQ Black-eyed Peas « p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny … […]


Leave a Reply

