p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Comme-ci Comme-ca Falafel

leave a comment »

Photobucket

Bien. Mal. Comme-ci, comme-ca. Growing up in Western Canadian elementary school you learn exactly three French ways to say how you’re feeling: Good. Bad. Like-this-like-that, aka “alright/in-between.” These falafel were, on the one hand, fantastic: suffused with homemade accomplishment, nicely flavoured, intact. On the other hand, their intactness came at a price: I think I added a tad too much flour so that they wouldn’t fall apart (a cautionary tip from the recipe notes and comments at the recipe source). I think the extra flour was the reason for the falafels turning out a little dry, dense, and rubbery. There’s also the chance that I cooked them a few seconds too long. But I was working with deep frying soaked raw beans for the first time, and I was a little nervous! The next day I steamed the leftover balls to rewarm them, and that seemed to preclude any further drying out. Anyways, some day I’ll try again.
Two notes on the beans: 1) it says you can also use canned beans, but peruse the comments: readers worked out the volume difference for canned vs. raw beans (soaked raw beans are, from what I can tell from my falafel research, the more authentic choice.) 2) I used dry, split fava beans instead of chickpeas, because that’s what I had. The recipe says that doing this is the Egyptian variation.
Below: in the pita. I quick-pickled my own rutabaga and golden beets in some vinegar and sugar, which turned out a little harsh in the end. Tahini mixed with lemon juice, pepper, water, and salt makes the sauce. Then hot sauce and tomatoes and pickles, of course.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

January 16, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

