p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Seaweed Salad and a Host of Other Things

with 2 comments

Photobucket

Now this was a feast, and I experimented around that old chestnut: the “pan-asian” pantry of goodies. From Gourmet Today, Seaweed Salad, made with some ancient dried wakame from my cupboard, and unexpected Gourmet Today wackiness in the form of chopped apple. Really a delicious combo, with sesame seeds, rice vinegar, all that kind of delicious jazz. Then we have Grilled (I broiled it) Eggplant with Peanut Sauce from the same tome. Peanut Sauce was pretty standard, if with more of a whipped/aerated texture than other peanut sauces due to blended roasted peanuts instead of peanut butter. And soba with more of the peanut sauce. But what are those saucy little nuggets, you ask? Well, I wanted to experiment further with the chickpea flour “fish” from Papa Tofu. The “fish” are really 1 cup chickpea flour, 1/2 t. berbere, 1/2 t. salt, 1/6 c. water, and 1 T. canola oil. You mix it into a stiff dough, shape into a ball and let sit for half an hour, then form into thin patties and panfry until golden. They are great when combined with the Ethiopian sauce from Papa Tofu, and I wanted to see if they were equally good with other sauces. Well, this time they turned out a little dry (I think I’ll experiment with adding a bit more water) and I combined them with storebought black bean stirfry sauce, which ended up tasting a little strong. The sauce, by the way, reminded me of how rarely I buy prepared food: I’m so used to making my own sauces out of more basic sauces, in proportions I like the taste of: it was strange to roll so pret-a-porter according to the store’s tastes…

Written by phdelicious

January 20, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I made some of these little fish things & some vegan tartar sauce fir supper tonight & sent off for my copy of Papa Tofu earlier this week.

    Not too shaby! I’m looking forward to the zine’s arrival though I’m not sure that a zine will fit in with my cookbooks and survive…

    tinge

    January 25, 2010 at 3:44 am

    • Oooh, what’d you put in your tartar sauce?

      phdelicious

      February 20, 2010 at 3:10 am


Leave a Reply

