p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

French Tomato Soup with Rice

with one comment

Photobucket

Ack: time flies! Here is French Tomato Soup With Rice from Gourmet Today. In the preamble it promises to be no ordinary tomato soup–that with saffron, orange zest, basil, etc. etc. it will be more of a Mediterranean-French pow to the senses. Or something like that. I love all those things, and soup and tomatoes and rice, so I went for it. I don’t really know what happened– the finished soup had a very peppery, astringent quality that goes beyond what I find pleasant (and it’s not like I don’t like peppery or astringent things!) I wonder if there was just too much orange zest for soupy purposes, with an effect similar to my neighbour’s stew ruined with too much rosemary, he said? I think maybe we have to be careful with strong astringent ingredients when they will be infused in liquid? I don’t know. I still have some in the freezer. I’ll eat it eventually.

Written by phdelicious

February 9, 2010 at 5:02 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It LOOKS good. If you blender it when you go to eat it again, will that help? Maybe add some soy yogurt or something to spice it down?

    AKer

    February 10, 2010 at 4:25 pm


Leave a Reply

