p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Green Rice!

with 4 comments

Photobucket

Oh, this was such a delicious dinner. I made my own salsa and guacamole, and then the chipotle black beans from Veganomicon with the chipotle drizzle mixed right in, and then from Gourmet Today, Green Rice. So good! Rice cooked in a puree of cilantro and parsley and onion and roasted poblanos. A lot more work than regular rice, but such a great, warm taste. I would definitely make this again. As you can see, I’m cooking a lot out of Gourmet Today: it’s the kind of book that inspires a kind of Julie and Julia “I’m gonna cook the whole thing” sentiment in me. A sentiment which meshes interestingly with the veganism thing. It would be a whole lot of veganising, and even then there are so many recipes that just plain wouldn’t be worth the effort. Like Pork Rillettes.

Written by phdelicious

February 10, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ooh, I haven’t checked in in awhile! This meal looks incredible! Makes me feel kind of disappointed that I’ve planned a pretty run of the mill pasta for dinner tonight…

    sarah

    February 10, 2010 at 10:59 pm

  2. I just got Gourmet today and have been cooking out of it! I’ve barely looked at the meat recipes, but I’m sure i’ll vegetarianize some of the chicken ones.

    Lisa H

    February 11, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  3. This green rice looked so good I had to make some last night! I used what I had in the house, cilantro, garlic, green onion, jalepeno, lime juice and some avocado. I cooked brown rice then mixed with the thick sauce- next time I’ll plan better and cook the rice in the sauce. Still delicious! Thanks for the idea.

    Lea

    February 14, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    • That sounds so tasty! I’m sure the lime juice was a delicious addition!

      phdelicious

      February 20, 2010 at 3:09 am


Leave a Reply

