p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Spiced Lentil Dal

leave a comment »

Photobucket

Mark Bittman of the New York Times ran a feature on simple dal recipes awhile ago, and I’ve been trying them out one by one! This was the first one I made (recipe here), substituting Earth Balance for butter, of course. As you can see it’s extremely stripped down– you boil the spices along with the lentils. I should have known: with a recipe this simple you can’t leave out the sauteed onion because you are out of time to go to the store. The final dish lacked depth and sweetness….. the exact depth and sweetness a sauteed onion would have provided. Ah well, it was perfectly serviceable, and to the leftovers I added a bit of acorn squash soup that I’d been unable to finish for lunch and was keeping in the fridge. Problem solved! I am getting much more resourceful and experimental with age– there was a time I measured everything to the 1/8 teaspoon, and never would have added a bit of leftover squash soup to a dal. Oh well: I think all that precision was good training for knowing what kinds of experiments would work once I grew into my wacky devil-may-care late twenties.
As accompaniment we have roasted brussels sprouts, a.k.a. winter candy, and a cashew/raisin pilaf I made up.

Written by phdelicious

February 20, 2010 at 3:23 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

