p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Pineapple Macadamia Cake

with 3 comments

Photobucket

Okay, so maybe I take a month off the blog, but when I come back, I present Copa Cabana Cake! Emily and Richard love all that Old Hollywood kinda dapper kinda stuff, and I’d read on a cupcake post somewhere when I was looking for ideas for this cake, that Frank Sinatra’s favourite cake was pineapple-macadamia. A foregone conclusion was born! Pineapple cake (made from Kittee’s basic cake recipe with pineapple juice and chopped macadamias and a tiny bit of rum subbed and less sugar). Three layers, filled with pineapple-rum mascarpone (made from Nonna’s Italian Kitchen‘s mascarpone, with pineapple juice instead of lemon juice, a tiny bit of rum, a tiny bit of icing sugar, and super-drained minced pineapple, left to set for a few hours in the fridge). The icing, I made up with shortening, Earth Balance, a bit of pineapple juice… I can’t actually remember. I tweak frostings like crazy until they work. I was proud of the pineapple-slice-as-decoration idea. I gave myself a private little intangible badge of achievement for this cake! And now, I guess I’m giving myself a public one. To toot this cake’s horn even more, it was the first time I’ve successfully pulled off a cake that was perfectly not too sweet/ just sweet enough for my tastes.

Photobucket
You need a dab of anchor icing.

Photobucket
Filling!

Photobucket
Stabilization/Crumb Layer phase.

Written by phdelicious

April 23, 2010 at 3:50 am

Posted in Baking

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This cake was UNBELIEVABLE. Thanks again!!!

    Emily

    April 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm

  2. such a cute cake! and it sounds totally delicious.

    sophia

    April 24, 2010 at 4:40 pm

  3. What a fun idea! It looks fantastic & sounds delicious.

    Kelly

    April 25, 2010 at 6:39 pm


Leave a Reply

