p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Cooking Date with Viva Vegan!

with one comment

Photobucket

Viva Vegan! by Terry Hope Romero is definitely my favourite cookbook these days! Everything I’ve made so far has been delicious, and has given me the chance to try out some new ingredients and techniques. (Hominy! Masa Harina! Aji Panca paste! Baking rice! Cooking rice with bean water! Cooking soaked beans with salt!) This particular night I had a cooking date with my lovely guy. I warned him that I don’t tend to play well with others in the kitchen, and then picked out Cuban Black Bean Soup and Pupusas. I figured pupusas would be a good choice because it would be all interactive and date-y to slow down my control freak tendencies and share the work of shaping the masa harina dough around the filling. And I was right, though/because at moments it did threaten to playfully devolve into a pupusa skill competition.

Anyhoo! Above we have the soup, doctored at the end with some chipotle powder and smoked paprika to fill out the flavour a bit. The soup was fantastic, and even more great with the addition of the Cashew Crema.

Photobucket

We made up a filling, because the one in the book used black beans and we already had that covered. Green onions, zucchini, garlic, chili powder, and chopped bottled cactus sauteed together, then a bit too much lime juice, then lots of avocado to balance it. I think it was still a little too rich (avocado) and tangy (cactus and lime) all at once for a filling of this type, but it worked out all right. Anything tastes pretty good stuffed into a homemade fried corn pocket.

Photobucket

Pupusas in the cast iron.

Photobucket

Plated. With guac and salsa!

Written by phdelicious

June 18, 2010 at 1:29 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so ridiculously in love with Viva Vegan and that black bean soup is divine. I haven’t made the pupusas yet… I just want to make everything!

    Kip

    July 12, 2010 at 8:37 pm


Leave a Reply

