p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Red Chile Potato Enchiladas

with one comment

Photobucket

Okay, this is probably my least favourite thing I’ve made so far from Viva Vegan!, but I think it was the fault of my substitutions and my dried chiles– it wasn’t Terry’s fault at all! And it was still tasty, just not phenomenal. I’ve actually enjoyed this more after the fact, reheated out of the freezer, with bottled tomatillo salsa. I decided to make the Red Chile variation of the Potato and Chickpea Enchiladas, which meant a chance to use up some ancient dried anchos I had lying around. The resulting sauce wasn’t insanely tasty– it was too much on the bitter side, even after I furtively added some ketchup to sweeten it up (so furtive when you admit it on the public blog, right?) But anyways. I didn’t have any chickpeas or seitan, so I cooked up lentils to mix with the potato filling. I am a lentil-loving girl, but I think chickpeas or seitan suit this dish better (you win this time, Romero!) I also covered the casserole with way more sauce than Terry suggests, because I had lots of it (this despite my not liking the sauce– smooth move, phdelicious!) The copious amount of sauce meant that the enchiladas fell apart quite a bit, becoming more of a casserole-like mixture. Then I topped it with Cashew Crema instead of Pine Nut Crema, and I think my substitution was a little too rich.

Moral of the story: while some of the most intense joy of having some cooking experience under your belt stems from making substitutions, sometimes, on an off night, it’s best to just do what Terry Hope Romero says.

Written by phdelicious

June 24, 2010 at 1:44 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I go away for a couple of weeks and your blog EXPLODES with beautiful looking, tasty foods – how wonderful!

    I’m going to have to try at least half of these meals. Fantastic.

    This one in particular looks splendid, though perhaps I’ll heed your warnings with regards to it.

    tinge

    June 29, 2010 at 3:25 pm


Leave a Reply

