p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Guatita (Creamy Potato Peanut Stew)

leave a comment »

Photobucket

Continuing my informal project to cook everything I can from Viva Vegan!, here is Guatita! I love peanut-y soups and stews, and I love potatoes, so I knew this would be up my alley. I made the chickpea variation. Now, the first bowl I had of this was insanely salty– I think this had something to do with the salty broth I tend to use, so watch out when the recipes in this book call for both broth and salt! Proceed carefully. It also had to do with the crazy salt level of the pickled red onions that I made, also from the book, to accompany the stew. (These are much better as a sandwich ingredient, it turns out, than as a major player on an already-salty stew.) Next day, see below, I ate it with tortillas and avocado, and it was fantastic!

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

October 2, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Posted in Meals

Leave a Reply

