p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Cinnamon Biscuit Rolls

with 2 comments

Photobucket

Here’s a half-blurry cross-section picture of the cinnamon biscuit rolls I’ve been making again lately– it’s the best picture I have! I first learned to make these biscuit rolls in Grade Nine cooking class back in the mid-nineties. Luckily, I kept my old cooking class binders (covered in band logos done with wite-out: Rancid, Operation Ivy, The Specials, and so on)– so I have all those old recipes for popovers, muffins, baked chicken, basic pie crust, butter tarts…all sorts of Canadian cooking class curricular basics that hadn’t changed since at least the 1970s. I loved these “Foods and Nutrition” classes–they were my introduction to my life-long love of cooking. Anyhow, I remember being so taken with these cinnamon biscuits that I came home and made more. Except that I mistakenly used salt for the baking powder. I was so frustrated that I started all over again that very evening. It was one of the first times I had a baking failure, and realized how obsessive compulsive I can be.
Wow, I’m chatty today. Alright, the point is, I veganized the recipe this year and it’s great! I prefer the biscuit dough to a classic yeast dough cinnamon roll– less bready, more gooey and rich. I’ve provided both metric and imperial, just to pay homage to Canadian high school cooking class protocol.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls
500ml/ 2 c. flour
30ml/ 2 T. sugar
20ml/ 4 t. baking powder
5ml/ 1 t. salt
50ml/ 1/4 c. cold Earth Balance (I know the conversion of cups and quarter cups is controversial–I’m convinced that in this case, 50 ml meant 1/4 cup).
250ml/ 1 c. cold “milk” of your choice (I even used watered down cashew cream once, and it was even more delicious)
75ml/ 1/3 c. soft Earth Balance (you may want to add a tiny bit more to make the mixture spreadable– I wrote down the recipe twice in my binder with conflicting amounts (oh, Grade Nine Jessica!), and this is the lesser. It certainly works at this amount, though, and don’t overdo it–you don’t want greasy, boiled over rolls.)
250ml/ 1 c. brown sugar
10ml/ 2 t. cinnamon
75ml/ 1/3 c. raisins (fully optional)

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Grease 12 muffin tins.
2. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt. Cut in EB until crumbly. Mix in milk and knead 8-10 times. Now, depending on the kind of milk you use, you may have a very wet dough. Add a few more tablespoons of flour if necessary, but use a light touch. You don’t want tough biscuits!
3. Roll out into rectangle about a third of an inch (1cm) thick and 12 inches (30cm) long.
4. Cream EB, brown sugar, and cinnamon together well. Drop 5ml/ 1t. of this mixture into each muffin tin, and spread the rest over the dough rectangle. (Since your dough will likely be somewhat soft, you’ll want to have a light touch with this, too– half-drop, half-spread it). Sprinkle raisins if using. Roll up like a jelly roll. Mark first into 12 pieces, then cut and place in muffin tins.
5. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Immediately invert onto wire rack over waxed paper.

Written by phdelicious

October 7, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Posted in Baking

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. NOM! That looks delicious, thanks for the recipe these will be in mah tummy soon.

    Jeni Treehugger

    October 8, 2010 at 7:31 am

    • Hooray! I hope your dough isn’t too wet. It’s just that the two times I made it recently it was very wet one time and perfect another…so I worry!

      phdelicious

      October 9, 2010 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

